Skip to content
Torbay Counts — Torbay, in numbers.Local help →

Torbay, in numbers

Projects

Torbay council area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

4 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Torquay harbour

Torquay Pavilion

The council is preparing restoration and future use of the closed heritage building.

Options and design preparation; April 2026 announcement · evidence dated 2026-04-17

Responsible body: Torbay Council

What the source says: The consent application covered outreach cabins and viewing access, not approval for full restoration.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; proximity does not establish a ward-wide benefit.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Torquay Pavilion consent and restoration stages →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Give the Pavilion a workable future →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Paignton and Preston seafronts

Paignton and Preston Waterfront

Coastal defences and public spaces are being improved in stages.

Construction underway September 2026 · evidence dated 2026-09-18

Responsible body: Torbay Council

What the source says: Preston completion was forecast for February 2027. Access arrangements change as work moves along the frontage.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; proximity does not establish a ward-wide benefit.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Paignton and Preston Waterfront September progress →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Keep the waterfront usable during coastal works →

How to track delivery →

Factory Row, Torquay

Leonard Stocks Centre

Temporary accommodation combines housing support with help to reach other services.

Operating service listed by the council · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Torbay Council

What the source says: Referrals and assessment determine access; this is not walk-in guaranteed accommodation.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; proximity does not establish a ward-wide benefit.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Leonard Stocks Centre service →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Connect temporary accommodation to lasting support →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Paignton town centre

Crossways extra-care housing

A revised proposal would replace the former shopping centre with extra-care homes and a day centre.

Revised planning application being prepared in the council update · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Torbay Council

What the source says: Approximately 90 homes are proposed; the update does not confirm completed housing.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; proximity does not establish a ward-wide benefit.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Crossways extra-care housing and funding reallocation →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Match Crossways housing to support needs →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →