Skip to content
Torbay Counts — Torbay, in numbers.Local help →

Torbay, in numbers

People and living standards

Torbay council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Torbay council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 121,953 in 1991 to 139,486 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Torbay council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 124,737 people in 1996; 139,486 people in 2025. 11.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Torbay council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991121,953
1992121,518
1993121,510
1994123,673
1995124,927
1996124,737
1997124,524
1998124,926
1999126,311
2000128,475
2001129,965
2002130,521
2003131,238
2004131,937
2005132,178
2006131,857
2007132,172
2008132,070
2009131,641
2010131,443
2011131,193
2012131,806
2013132,920
2014134,217
2015135,052
2016136,172
2017137,329
2018138,100
2019138,754
2020138,695
2021139,440
2022139,406
2023139,734
2024139,862
2025139,486
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Torbay council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 22,492 people in 1996; 21,035 people in 2025. 6.5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Torbay council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,966
199221,168
199321,429
199422,019
199522,421
199622,492
199722,495
199822,659
199923,067
200023,298
200123,320
200223,194
200323,187
200423,101
200522,894
200622,615
200722,473
200822,248
200922,050
201021,884
201121,691
201221,761
201321,928
201422,153
201522,390
201622,571
201722,784
201822,885
201922,814
202022,517
202122,210
202222,065
202321,839
202421,543
202521,035
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Torbay council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 72,783 people in 1996; 79,538 people in 2025. 9.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Torbay council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199171,092
199270,535
199370,416
199472,012
199572,860
199672,783
199772,674
199873,056
199974,034
200075,897
200177,247
200277,852
200378,558
200479,277
200579,677
200679,651
200779,962
200879,787
200979,212
201078,833
201178,353
201277,767
201377,956
201478,314
201578,401
201678,818
201779,313
201879,469
201979,484
202079,263
202179,906
202279,679
202379,879
202479,925
202579,538
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Torbay council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 29,462 people in 1996; 38,913 people in 2025. 32.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Torbay council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199129,895
199229,815
199329,665
199429,642
199529,646
199629,462
199729,355
199829,211
199929,210
200029,280
200129,398
200229,475
200329,493
200429,559
200529,607
200629,591
200729,737
200830,035
200930,379
201030,726
201131,149
201232,278
201333,036
201433,750
201534,261
201634,783
201735,232
201835,746
201936,456
202036,915
202137,324
202237,662
202338,016
202438,394
202538,913
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 139,324 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Torbay · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh2,2541.6%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African4470.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,0841.5%
White133,92296.1%
Other ethnic group6170.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 130,959 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Torbay · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White127,69997.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,4201.1%
Asian/Asian British1,3531%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2510.2%
Other ethnic group2360.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 129,706 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Torbay · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White128,10598.8%
Mixed7330.6%
Asian/Asian British3450.3%
Black/Black British1410.1%
Chinese/Other3820.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 8.4% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Torbay council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,939 per person in 1997; £23,771 per person in 2024. 139.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Torbay council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,939
199810,020
199910,465
200011,097
200111,120
200211,206
200311,653
200412,083
200512,768
200613,294
200713,591
200814,256
200914,500
201014,859
201115,013
201215,331
201315,826
201416,396
201516,684
201616,915
201717,145
201817,616
201918,134
202018,636
202119,259
202220,454
202322,296
202423,771
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Torbay council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -6.3% in 1997; -8.4% in 2024. 2.1 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Torbay council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-6.3
1998-7.5
1999-7.5
2000-6.8
2001-10.1
2002-11.4
2003-10.6
2004-11
2005-9.2
2006-9.2
2007-11.4
2008-9.5
2009-9.4
2010-8
2011-7.9
2012-9.2
2013-9.6
2014-9.3
2015-12.3
2016-12.2
2017-13
2018-13.7
2019-13.9
2020-11.2
2021-11.8
2022-10.9
2023-8.8
2024-8.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

50.4%

21 March 2021 · Torbay council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

22%

21 March 2021 · Torbay council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.8%

21 March 2021 · Torbay council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7.3%

21 March 2021 · Torbay council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£222,000

July 2026 · Torbay council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£920

August 2026 · Torbay council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.